I’m Celebrating!

One Bad Day After Another is one of five Finalists for the Daphne Award for unpublished mainstream mystery!

I never imagined that one day I would write a book! Honest. I’m not someone who will say “I knew I wanted to write since I was in first grade.” Not even close. I’ve always enjoyed reading and speaking. But where authors got the idea for a story I couldn’t imagine. (Just like I can’t imagine how a composer ‘hears’ music.)

But one summer afternoon I was sitting in the backyard and the opening scene of One Bad Day After Another came, full blown, into my head. This year I entered the manuscript in the Daphne writing competition It was quite a shock when I got the phone call saying the book was a FINALIST! (In fact, for an entire day I expected the phone would ring and they would say they’d called the wrong person by mistake – sorry!)

But that didn’t happen…and I am off in July to attend the Awards presentation in Denver.

One Bad Day After Another introduces Ottawa, Canada, female private eye Baker Somerset. She’s a feisty red-head with freckles and a hard-boiled attitude. Please check her out at her website http://www.bakersomerset.com

The Daphne du Maurier Award is presented by the Romance Writers of America Mystery/Suspence Chapter Kiss of Death. http://www.rwakissofdeath.org/daphne

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://booksmoviesandgames.wordpress.com/2018/05/22/im-celebrating/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment