Wicked Autumn by G. M. Malliet

This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

I put off writing this review thinking that I might come to realize that I enjoyed the book more than I did, after all, Malliet is a very well regarded writer. This was the first of her books that I had read and I expected to really enjoy it.

Without question, Malliet’s use of words is excellent. It would certainly appeal to Agatha Christie fans (lots of suitable suspects and a generally unlikable victim) and I could see why she is often compared to Christie. I will most likely read another in the series to see how it develops.

But. I did not find myself caring about Max, or the people in the village. I felt overwhelmed with all the character development of the individual members of the village and wondered if I would be required to learn this all over again in a second book. The main feeling I had was “get on with it”. It seemed slow, even for a cozy. I also wondered if Max would have been able to solve the case if it had not been for the last-minute witness turning up. The conclusion was not worthy of the writing.

Published in: on August 29, 2011 at 9:20 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://booksmoviesandgames.wordpress.com/2011/08/29/wicked-autumn-by-g-m-malliet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

