I Didn’t See That Coming

When you have watched lots and lots of movies, or read lots and lots of mysteries, you soon ‘see the plot coming’ long before it gets there.  My family gets upset with me every time I announce an ending before the movie is even half-way through.

Nine Queens took me in completely and I was totally surprised by the final twist.

If you are someone who won’t watch a foreign film because of having to read the sub-titles you are really missing a great con movie, one which I believe will someday be considered a classic in this genre.

This gem is from Argentina and stars people I didn’t know and you probably won’t either – Ricardo Darin, Gaston Pauls and Letice Bredice.  It is perfectly put together. Done on a lean budget, the movie is refreshingly lean.  Every scene is needed, each builds on the one before it and it’s not over until it’s over.

The plot in a nutshell: It begins with a familiar, small con in a convenience store and grows to become a big-time con about a rare sheet of stamps called The Nine Queens.

After I saw it the first time I immediately watched it again to see if there had been something to give away the ending.  I couldn’t find anything. On a scale of 1 to 5, I give it a 5.

Published in: on February 18, 2011 at 12:49 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://booksmoviesandgames.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/i-didnt-see-that-coming/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

