The Value of Mystery “Series”

I recently read an item bemoaning the popularity of mystery “series”. The writer was thinking of books for young readers with predictable plots, inferior writing, etc, etc. but I still have to ask – what’s wrong with “series”?

I wouldn’t want to do without them! How well I remember my father getting quite angry with me when I failed to respond to his call to come and set the table for dinner even though I was only three feel away! I was deep into Nancy Drew and honestly did not hear him. I have remained a mystery fan, and love series mysteries. You watch a character develop over time and see their lives change – as you do with your “alive” friends. It’s true, there can be poorly written series, but there are poorly written non-series books (as we all know).

There are books we read for enlightenment and there are books that we read for “comfort”. One is not “good” and the other “bad”. Comfort books provide a great relaxation in a stressful world. They may not all be “great literature” – indeed, perhaps none might be called such. But, you know what? Some “great literature” while good for us, can also be terribly boring. I, for one, say – Up with Series!

 

Published in: on December 22, 2010 at 1:07 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://booksmoviesandgames.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/the-value-of-mystery-series/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

